UNO DE LOS LUGARES MÁS ANTIGUOS DE NUESTRA CIUDAD
It was in 1531 when the Cerro de Sangremal was officially founded, a convent where all the religious people were aware of taking care of the stone of the Holy Cross. And that is also why the friars who lived there began to build a chapel and several rooms, which were abruptly interrupted because they did not have the necessary permits.
The years passed and finally several uses could be given, as for example in 1649 and 1666, which was established as guardian and collection convent of the Province of San Pedro and San Pablo de Michoacán, respectively. It was also named as the Convent of San Buenaventura - although it was still known as the Convent of the Holy Cross - and was chosen as the place for the First College of Propaganda Fide in America to be established. This congregation was founded in 1622 by Pope Gregory XV, who developed the legislation and coordination of missions and missionaries with the help of his first secretary, Francesco Ingoli.
It was not until 1683 that Fray Antonio de Linaz, along with 25 volunteer friars and the Bull of Pope Innocent XI, traveled from Spain to Querétaro to achieve the founding of Fide College. After 93 days of travel, they finally arrived at the place so that on August 15, 1683 (Day of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary to the Skies) the official delivery was given in the Convent of the Holy Cross. After the creation of the College, several modifications had to be made to the campus because they were not enough for the missionaries and novices, offices, temple extensions and more were created; they also introduced an underground aqueduct to bring water from the Cañada and renovated the old temple by adding new windows and a sepulchral vault. And they also decided to continue with the main celebration: the Exaltation of the Holy Cross.
With so many years of construction, they never imagined that later, part of the place was going to be destroyed. It was in 1821, after the Cry of Independence that several troops began to arrive in the city to occupy the College and caused several religious to withdraw. Some time later, in 1849 with the Reform Laws of President Benito Juarez, it was ruled that the assets of the religious were disentailed so that they disappeared from all the national territory and this caused the Convent to be occupied as a prison and other uses were given. In that same year, an explosion caused almost the entire convent library to be destroyed. In 1867, the imperialist troops of Maximilian of Hapsburg also caused significant material losses.
In the twentieth century, the convent was again used as cavalry of the Tropa Military School and Headquarters of Arms and Command of the 50th Battalion. In 1931 the representative of the governor of Querétaro, receives the property to later make the Elementary School Number
2 of the City of Querétaro. By the beginning of the 21st century, the federal school Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz still continued to function, but for the year 2008 it was closed due to the risks represented by the property due to the deterioration of time.
In conjunction with the Ministry of Culture and the government of Engineer Francisco Domínguez Servién, for 2016 it is decided to rehabilitate the place to create the Museum of Contemporary Art of Querétaro. And two years after hard work, it was possible to inaugurate the museum with pieces borrowed from the collections of Jumex, Femsa, Isabel and Agustín Coppel, Rufino Tamayo, among other important ones.